"Be the best you can be ..."

OUR  STAFF

Leadership Team

Principal: Craig McDonald 

principal@awakeri.school.nz 

Deputy Principal: Louise Howard (on leave 2023)

lhoward@awakeri.school.nz 

Naomi Christie

(Acting DP)

Teaching Staff

Team Leader 

Jaimee Magee

Piwakawaka is home to our youngest learners. Piwakawaka starts the year, with three classrooms, but usually expands to 4 by the end of the year. Piwakawaka have a wonderful team of teachers who make the start to school a positive and successful one. 

Room 1 Teacher: Jaimee Magee

jaimeem@awakeri.school.nz 

Room 4 Teacher: Natasha Grindrod

natashagrindrod@awakeri.school.nz 

Room 5 Teacher: Emma Munn

emmamunn@awakeri.school.nz   

Room 7 Teacher: Carrie Anne Dennis

carrie-annedennis@awakeri.school.nz 

Room 1 Teacher (Mon-Wed): Sam Morris

sammorris@awakeri.school.nz 

Team Leader 

Emma Cleveland

The Kea team is a team of Year 3 to 4 students this year. We have a wonderful team of teachers covering three classrooms in the school. We know that our students will have access to a multitude of fun and engaging learning and team-building opportunities throughout the year. 

Emma Cleveland


Room 10 Teacher (Mon, Tues, Wed Thurs): Laura Edgecombe

lauraedgecombe@awakeri.school.nz 


Room 9 Teacher: Martie Andrew

martieandrew@awakeri.school.nz 

Room 10 Teacher (Friday):Rosie Mexted

rosiemexted@awakeri.school.nz 

Team Leader 

Joanne Elliot

Tui Syndicate

Tui is our Year 5-6 syndicate. We have a fantastic team of teachers full of enthusiasm and passion for teaching at Awakeri School. 



Room 11 Teacher: Joanne Elliot

joanneelliot@awakeri.school.nz 

Room 13 Teacher: Kylie Rauputu

kylier@awakeri.school.nz 

Room 12 Teacher: Adyn Ogle

adyno@awakeri.school.nz

Team Leader 

Brigette Davidson

Karearea Syndicate

Karearea is our senior syndicate made up of Year Seven and Eight students. We have a fantastic team of teachers full of enthusiasm and passion for teaching at Awakeri School. Some of the exciting things happening throughout the year include; Top School, Science Fair, Math Swap, Technology at Edgecumbe College for Year 7 & 8’s and many leadership opportunities. Our students will also be attending individual class camps throughout Term 1 and 2 with great activities and experiences planned. 



Room 15 Teacher: Brigette Davidson

brigettedavidson@awakeri.school.nz 

Room 14 Teacher: Eilidh Fretwell

efretwell@awakeri.school.nz 

Support Teachers

SENCO: Sara Elliot

saraelliot@awakeri.school.nz 

Part Time Teacher: Peter Sheather

petersheather@awakeri.school.nz 


Part Time Teacher: Viv Barr

vivbarr@awakeri.school.nz


Support Staff

Office Manager: Jo Wanoa

jowanoa@awakeri.school.nz 

Caretaker: Gary Huitema

caretaker@awakeri.school.nz 

Librarian: Margo White

margowhite@awakeri.school.nz 


Teacher Aide: Amy James

amyj@awakeri.school.nz

Teacher Aide: Brenda Looney

brendalooney@awakeri.school.nz 

Teacher Aide: Paula Mayne

paulamayne@awakeri.school.nz 

Teacher Aide: Rebecca Smith

rebeccasmith@awakeri.school.nz 

Ariel Maunder - ICT Support

On Leave

Rosie Mexted

"Kia Toa, Kia Manawanui"